LIVESTRONG at the YMCA

LIVESTRONG at the YMCA
Partners in healing the whole person

Join our small group program designed for adult cancer survivors. Our goal is to help participants build muscle mass and muscle strength, increase flexibility and endurance and improve functional ability. Additional goals include reducing the severity of therapy side effects, preventing unwanted weight changes and improving energy levels and self esteem. A final goal of the program is to assist participants in developing their own physical fitness program so they can continue to practice a healthy lifestyle, not only as part of their recovery, but as a way of life.

In addition to the physical benefits, the program provides participants a supportive environment and a feeling of community with their fellow survivors, YMCA staff and members. YMCA fitness instructors work with each participant to fit the program to their individual needs. The instructors are trained in the elements of cancer, post rehab exercise and supportive cancer care.

  • 12 week program
  • FREE due to the generosity of our donors.
  • INCLUDES a complimentary 12-week YMCA membership.

For LIVESTRONG, please contact:
Cape Ann YMCA: Cassie Carlson carlsonc@northshoreymca.org
Greater Beverly YMCA:  Lee Benton bentonl@northshoreymca.org
Haverhill YMCA: Stephanie Laverdure laverdures@northshoreymca.org
Ipswich Family YMCA: Chris Bevilacqua bevilacquac@northshoreymca.org 
Lynch/Van Otterloo YMCA: Jeff Hunt huntj@northshoreymca.org
Plaistow Community YMCA:  Wendy Takesian takesianw@northshoreymca.org
Salem YMCA: Tina Yates yatest@northshoreymca.org